Reformed Baptist Blues

Perhaps the only reference in rock and roll to Reformed Baptists.

From Canada’s biggest band, the Tragically Hip.

 

Reformed Baptist Blues lyrics

 

Comely woman why you treating me this way?

Got religion, instead of loving now you’re praying

You know I know I was everything you need

Traded good times for a reverend’s guarantees

 

I ‘aint no preaching man, don’t know what to do

(Don’t know what to do)

I got those slowly sinking, reformed Baptist blues

(Slowly sinking, reformed Baptist blues)

 

Now you wake me when I should be sleeping in

Drag me out to your place of worshiping

Missed the football now, six weeks in a row

It’s depressing to this man from golden door

 

I ‘aint no preaching man, don’t know what to do

(Don’t know what to do)

I got those slowly sinking, reformed Baptist blues

(Slowly sinking, reformed Baptist blues)

 

Absolution is a bummer I have found

Re-baptism is just another way to drown

God’s salvation doesn’t interest me at all

Found the answer at the bottom of a bottle

 

Now you curse me every time I tell a lie

Take my gold chain for a (?) die

Can’t beseech you that our marriage is a fraud

Can’t get screwed around when the other guy is God.

 

I ‘aint no preaching man, don’t know what to do

(Don’t know what to do)

I got those slowly sinking, reformed Baptist blues

(Slowly sinking, reformed Baptist blues)

Leave a Reply

