New £5 note contains tallow; vegetarian café says it will refuse to take it

Crazy; did the Brits learn nothing from the Sepoy Rebellion? 😉

A vegetarian cafe is refusing to accept the new £5 note after it emerged the currency contains animal products.

Sharon Meijland, owner of the Rainbow Cafe in Cambridge, has put up signs warning customers about the policy.

There was outcry from some vegetarians and religious groups when it was revealed the polymer used for the notes contains tallow – a type of animal fat.

The Bank of England declined to say whether there was a legal obligation to accept the notes.

Advertisements